You are here

Douglas Mendes

Sunday, February 8, 2015
​Political spin doctors will tell you that the best way to deal with a swirling crisis is to change the topic of conversation.
Sunday, January 25, 2015
​It is a fact of political life in this country that whenever a government is confronted with a sudden escalation in murders, or an unfavourable end-of-year scorecard in the murder rate column, an off
Sunday, January 18, 2015
This week’s edition of the French magazine Charlie Hebdo has brought to light once again the clash of civilisations.
Sunday, January 4, 2015
​I imagine that it is only because this is a season of generosity and forgiveness that we are being asked to believe that the Prime Minister did not think that a simple press release containing her Ch
Sunday, December 21, 2014
​The criminal element is increasingly ruthless, daring, well armed with sophisticated weaponry, and inexhaustible in number.
Sunday, December 14, 2014
​With oil prices in decline, Petrotrin complaining about poor financial results, and Christmas just around the corner, it is not surprising that the Oilfields Workers Trade Union took the decision not
Sunday, December 7, 2014
The dust had hardly settled after the protests in Ferguson, St Louis, over the failure of a Grand Jury to indict the police officer who shot Michael Brown, when the news came that a Grand Jury ain New
Sunday, November 30, 2014
​A Missouri Grand Jury has found no cause for charging the officer who shot and killed Michael Brown.
Sunday, November 9, 2014
​The Citizens 4D Highway organisation has launched a campaign against the three daily newspapers for failing to carry a paid advertisement containing a satirical depiction of Dr Wayne Kublalsingh’s hu
Sunday, October 26, 2014
​In his weekly column, Ralph Maraj chronicled the twists and turns of the alternating support and opposition given to the Debe to Mon Desir section of the highway by the UNC and the PNM, depending upo

Pages